Just another WordPress.com site

The word “OBVIOUSLY”

“Well, I obviously didn’t do that!”

Obviously that’s not how you do it!”

“There’s the father, obviously he’s overcome with emotion.”

I am sorry, but the world these days seems to have lost the meaning of the word obviously. 

Dictionary.com defines obvious as this:

–adjective

1.  easily seen, recognized, or understood; open to view or knowledge; evident: an obvious advantage.

2. lacking in subtlety.
 
I realize that the word obvious and it’s adverbial form obviously are used to express oppinion, but some of these examples of misuse that I posted above are not easily seen, recognized, or understood.
 
“Well, I obviously didn’t do that!”  
This was exclaimed by a lady that I know as she explained to me the price of a certain type of paper. She was taking watercolor classes at the time, and had learned a technique that required a speacialty paper. She had gone to an art store, and after seeing the price, decided against getting it. She thought that this was easily recongnized. I did not. Being a patron of the arts myself, I knew that $26.00 for 10 sheets of that particular paper wasn’t a great deal, but it was a price that she seemed willing to pay due to her excitement over the work she produced in her class.  The way she narrated her story, I was almost sure she had bought that paper. This peeved me.
 
I have nothing against the word obvious or users of the word obvious, but I wish people would be aware that what they refer to as obvious may or may not be as easily seen to others.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

